Niagara Region Metis Council Office 

3250 Schmon Parkway, Unit 1a
Thorold, ON   L2V 4Y6

**Please call in advance to ensure a staff person is available.
Ph: 905-682-3487

​Fax:  905-682-1646

Niagara Council

The Mission of the Niagara Region Metis Council is to unite the Métis people and to promote the historical values, culture, language, and traditions of the Métis Nation.

Peacefully on Thursday May 24, 2018 at the age of 78 surrounded by his loving family.

Predeceased by his parents Emile and Blanche and step-father Edgar, brother Regent and sister-in-law Madeleine.  Survived by his loving wife Elsie, sons Marc and Nick also his adored grandchildren Jessica, 
Sarah, Talon, Victoria, Trinity and nieces and nephew.  

Reg was owner and operator of Bernier Excavating and Haulage for 40 yrs, he was also founder of the Welland Snowmobile Club.  He was very proud of his Métis Heritage and was on the Welland Métis Council for many years.  The family wish to thank Father Merrick,  Dr. Levesque and Dot at the Walker Centre and Dr. Scher and staff at the Port Colborne General palliative care unit. 

Photos, Links, Job postings, and more

Lands, Resources, and Consultation Branch, Health Branch, Education and MNO Registry information.

Niagara Region Metis Council

Louis Riel Day, November 2017:  Niagara Region Office.

From L to R: Vance Badawey (MP), Paul Grenier (Niagara Region Councillor), Frank Campion (Mayor), Sandra Easton (Mayor), Brian Kon (Niagara Region Metis Council, Chair), Garry Laframbroise (Niagara Region Metis Council, Senator), Alan Caslin (Niagara Region, Chair), Derrick Pont,(Niagara Region Metis Council, President), Chris Bittle (MP), Ted Luciani (Mayor), Patrick Darte (Lord Mayor).  Missing from photo: Jim Diodati (Mayor).

Upcoming Events!

Niagara Region Metis Council would like to pay honour to Reg Bernier for the many years of dedication to Council, our citizens, and his pride in his heritage.

Reginald Bernier

May 4, 1940 to May 24, 2018

For the most up-to-date information about Council activities please visit our Facebook page: